Views 5210


The competition offers an international platform for young architecture and design professionals and students from around the world to display their innovative proposals for the bathroom space. Prize money for each of the winners of the professional and student categories is set at EUR 10,000.


Held in collaboration with the BCD Barcelona Centre de Disseny (Barcelona Design Centre), the last six editions of the contest have seen a total of 14,600 participants from 112 countries, submitting over 2,300 projects. A novelty in this year´s instalment is the incorporation of the We Are Water Foundation special sustainability prize, set at EUR 6,000.


German architect Patrik Schumacher, Principal of Zaha Hadid Architects, will head up the jumpthegap jury.

Other members will include leading professionals from the fields of architecture and design:

Josep Congost (Spain), Roca Design and Innovation Director

Vladimir Pirojkov, (Russia), CEO OF High Complexity Prtototyping Centre KINETICA

Isabel Roig (Spain), Managing Director of BCD Barcelona Design Centre and former President of BEDA (Bureau of European Design Associations)

Anjali Srinivasan (India), Director of the ChoChoMa studios and winner of the Swarovski Designer of the Future Award 2016

Benedetta Tagliabue (Italy), Director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue and President of jumpthegap second edition

Valentin Vodev (Bulgaria), Designer and Founder Vodev Studio

Ma Yansong, (China), 2014 “Young Global Leaders” (YGL) Award and President jumpthegap sixth edition


For the Special We Are Water Foundation prize, the members of the jury are:

Xavier Torras (Spain), Director of the We Are Water Foundation

Henk Ovink, (Netherlands), Special Envoy for International Water Affairs of the Netherlands

Sophie Thomas (United Kingdom), Founding Director of Thomas.Matthews Agency

cash prize award: $ 25,000.00 USD